Virgin Atlantic

After flying out to New York’s JFK airport recently with Delta the beautiful snowy weather proves too much for Delta, despite my husband flying out with only minor delays on BA the same day (he had separately booked his flights of a business trip and I decided to join him out there). Due to the cancellation of 2 flights (one after a 6 delay including 3 hours sat on the Tarmac) I was rebooked on a Virgin Atlantic flight as they are one of Delta’s partners.

As I was transferred 2.5 hours before departure I was unable to notify Virgin Atlantic in advance of my dietary requirements. I spoke to the gate staff who told me it was unlikely I would be able to eat a vegan or vegetarian meal on the plane but to talk to the flight attendants once I’d boarded. In preparation I bought some vegan food to take I the plane, 3 bananas to be precise and this is all I could find in the terminal.

Thankfully when I asked the wonderful flight attendant she was able to find a vegan meal for me 🙂

It was more or less the same as the one from the Delta flight consisting of:

Vegan curry with rice
Salad with lemon dressing
Bread roll with vegetable spread
Fruit cup
No-dairy creamer (although on checking the ingredients I noticed this has a milk derivative and so is not suitable for vegans)

20140206-170450.jpg

They even serve Tiger beer which goes very nicely with a curry (and is vegan according to Barnivore).

20140206-170611.jpg

20140206-170618.jpg

Leave a comment